Bio

“What is uttered from the heart alone, will win the hearts of others to your own.”
– Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

JennyScott-Portrait-Deep-Blach-Hole-sw-bw-800x800

Jenny Scott creates songs that are somewhere between pop, jazz, soul and blues, but are still too distinctive to really classify. With an enchanting voice and dreamy, adventurous melodies, Jenny proves that making music is a craft that above all should come from the heart and soul.

First attention Jenny arouse with the digital release of her jazz influenced “Things Called Love” EP in 2013, which to this day has been downloaded in more than 35 countries: Amongst Germany also in the USA, Great Britain, Arabia, Australia and China.

In March 2015, Jenny opened a show for the French – Nigerian Singer Asa on her “Bed Of Stone” Tour through Europe, which was nearly sold out.

2016, Jenny Scott made it to the semifinals of the “Jugendkulturell Förderpreis” by the Hypovereinsbank out of 160 applications and being the winner of the online voting.

This year Jenny digitally released her new studio EP “Deep Black Hole”. This five-track EP is a collection of songs with many fresh and interesting layers of modern pop music and good old styles like jazz and blues. The recordings feature Jenny on the main and backing vocals as well as on rhythm and lead guitar. Working together with other talented young musicians, every song has a complete band arrangement to it, showing what musicians that share the same vibe are able to create together.

ABOUT DEEP BLACK HOLE
Isolated and broke but focused on her dream to make music, Jenny Scott began the work on her new self-funded EP two years ago. During this time Jenny wrote songs as a way of self-exploration and discovery of her sounds and her soul, as she doubted about herself and thought about quitting music. After learning to live together with her fears and demons and finding a growing support on her followers in social media Jenny comes now more energetic than ever, to show that making music is a craft that above all should come from the heart and the soul.

“Jenny is a unique and exceptional talent and one to keep an ear on in the future.”
– John Braheny (Author of “The Craft & Business of Songwriting”, Los Angeles CA.)

In every track of “Deep Black Hole” Jenny is accompanied by Marcel Siegers who supports the mood of each song with playful rhythm and sound patterns on drums and percussion. The keys arrangements played by Christoph Siegenthaler and the groovy bass lines from Andi Kober add shades to the songs in a dynamic band setting.

On the title and opening track “Deep Black Hole” Jenny processes her difficult relationship with her father. Scott wrote “Don’t Turn Around” to remind herself of not giving up on her dream on becoming a full time musician. “While working on my new EP I was really in a bad shape. I felt stuck, working so hard to reach my goals and not seeing any significant progress”, Jenny says. “I was about to leave it behind, to stop but then I realized that giving up is not like me. So I decided to fight my doubts with the best tool that I know: writing music. That is how “Don’t Turn Around” was born.”

“I can’t believe this is you whom I see, the one so sure she could fly.”
from “Don’t Turn Around”

Being an admirer for Patti Smith, Jenny seeks the inspiration that gives her strength and direction on her way into music. The legendary performer and poet, without knowing it, influenced her on the writing of the song “Building A Good Name”.

“Build a good name. Keep your name clean. Don’t make compromises, don’t worry about making a bunch of money or being successful — be concerned with doing good work and make the right choices and protect your work. And if you build a good name, eventually, that name will be its own currency.” – Patti Smith

The soulful uplifting love song “Good Will Keep Coming” that had already been released as a single with its music video in early 2016 leads us to “Walking Alone”, the last track that with its chosen chords and structure displays the smooth and jazzy touch which is the signature of the talented young musician Jenny Scott.

“Deep Black Hole” is available on iTunes, Amazon, Bandcamp and Spotify

Bio

„Denn es muss von Herzen kommen, was auf Herzen wirken soll.“ – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Jenny-Scott-Portrait-Frank-Lorscheid-800x800

Mal fröhlich, seicht; mal melancholisch, schwer. Vom Suchen und Finden; gefunden werden. Jenny Scott nimmt jede Ihrer Gefühls-Facetten unverfälscht und unmittelbar in ihren Songs auf und ist damit so intim, so authentisch, dass einem sofort klar wird: Hier ist jemand mit ganzem Herzen dabei! Kein Plan B, kein ‚Was wäre wenn…?‘ Jennys Musik steht für einen schöpferischen Zusammenschluss aus Pop, Jazz und Blues Elementen, die mit verzaubernden Melodien, groovigen Gitarren Arrangements, tiefgehenden, englischsprachigen Texten und einer ausdrucksstarken Stimme der jungen Singer/Songwriterin bestechen.

2013 veröffentlichte Jenny Scott Ihre erste Studio EP „Things Called Love“, die bis dato in über 35 Ländern heruntergeladen wurde. Neben Deutschland u.a. in den USA, Großbritannien, Arabien, Australien und China. Jenny’s Musik spricht an; erreicht Menschen überall auf der Welt.

Im März 2015 eröffnete Jenny ein ausverkauftes Konzert der französisch-nigerianischen Sängerin und Songschreiberin Asa während ihrer „Bed Of Stone“ Tour in Köln.

2016 spielte Jenny Scott auf der Newcomer Stage des „L-Beach Festival’s in Hamburg und erreichte im selben Jahr aus 160 Bewerbungen und einem gewonnen Online Voting den Vorentscheid des „Jugendkulturell Förderpreises“ der Hypovereinsbank.

Dieses Jahr  hat die deutsche Singer-Songwriterin Ihre neue Studio EP “Deep Black Hole” veröffentlicht. Eine Sammlung aus fünf Eigenkompositionen, die auf eine Reise durch verschiedenste, klangliche Schichten aus modernem Pop und den Wurzeln der Musik; dem Jazz und Blues mitnimmt. Die Aufnahmen zeigen nicht nur Jennys Kreativität als Liedermacherin, sondern auch am Gesang sowie der Rhythmus und Sologitarre. In Zusammenarbeit mit weiteren talentierten Musikern an Schlagzeug/Perkussion, Klavier und Bass hat jedes Stück sein eigenes maßgeschneidertes Bandgewand erhalten,  welches die vibrierende Energie zum Ausdruck bringt, die Musiker gemeinsam kreieren können.

Über Deep Black Hole
Isoliert und abgebrannt aber dennoch fokussiert auf ihren Traum Musik zu machen, so hat Jenny Scott vor zwei Jahren die Arbeit an ihrer selbstfinanzierten EP begonnen. Während dieser Zeit schrieb Jenny Lieder um sich selbst zu erkunden und um ihren eigenen Klang in ihrer Seel wiederzufinden; dachte sie doch bereits darüber nach mit dem Musik machen aufzuhören. Nachdem sie gelernt hatte mit Ihren Ängsten und inneren Dämonen umzugehen und mit der wachsenden Unterstützung ihrer Fans in den sozialen Medien, hat Jenny heute mehr Energie als je zuvor. Sie zeigt uns, dass Musik machen ein Handwerk ist, das vor allem dem Herzen und der Seele entspringen sollte.

“Jenny is a unique and exceptional talent and one to keep an ear on in the future.”
– John Braheny (Author of “The Craft & Business of Songwriting”, Los Angeles CA.)

Auf “Deep Black Hole” wird Jenny von ihrem langjährigen Weggefährten Marcel Siegers begleitet, der mit seinen verspielten Rhythmen und Klangmustern an Schlagzeug und Perkussion die Stimmung jedes Songs intensiviert und unterstreicht. Die Mitmusiker Christoph Siegenthaler am Klavier und den Synth, (Stefanie Heinzmann) und Bassist Andi Kober (Mickey Brühl Band) fügen den Songs in einem dynamischen Bandaufbau weitere interessante Nuancen hinzu.

In dem Titelsong “Deep Black Hole” verarbeitet Jenny ihre nicht so leichte Beziehung zu ihrem Vater. “Don’t Turn Around” schrieb sie, um sich selbst daran zu erinnern, ihren Traum eine Vollzeit Musikerin zu werden nicht aufzugeben. “Während der Arbeit an meiner neuen EP ging es mir wirklich schlecht. Ich glaubte festzustecken. Ich arbeite so hart um meine Ziele zu erreichen und sah keine große Entwicklung.”, sagt Jenny. “Ich war drauf und dran all das hinter mir zu lassen, aufzuhören;  aber dann habe ich erkannt, dass ich nicht aufgeben will. Ich habe beschlossen meine Zweifel mit dem Besten Werkzeug aus dem Weg zu räumen das ich kenne: Lieder schreiben. So ist “Don’t Turn Around”entstanden.”

 “I can’t believe this is you whom I see, the one so sure she could fly.”
from “Don’t Turn Around”

Als Bewunderin von Patti Smith, strebt Jenny nach der Inspiration die ihr Kraft und eine Richtung auf ihrem Weg zur Musik gibt. Die legendäre Performerin und Poetin hat Jenny beim Schreiben des Songs “Building A Good Name” ohne es zu wissen, stark beeinflusst.

“Build a good name. Keep your name clean. Don’t make compromises, don’t worry about making a bunch of money or being successful — be concerned with doing good work and make the right choices and protect your work. And if you build a good name, eventually, that name will be its own currency.” – Patti Smith

Das soulige Liebeslied “Good Will Keep Coming” wurde bereits 2016 als Single samt eigenem Musikvideo veröffentlicht. Eine gut gelaunte Nummer die von Zuversicht in einer frischen Beziehung erzählt. Diese führt uns zum letzten Stück auf der EP “Walking Alone“. Ein Lied, das durch seine gewählten Akkorde und Struktur den verträumten, weichen jazzigen Touch versprüht, für den die talentierte junge Musikerin steht.

“Deep Black Hole” ist erhältlich auf iTunes, Amazon, Bandcamp und Spotify